Shortly into the fall gaming season, we are already knee-deep in stuff to play

2012’s fall gaming season really opened up with a bang this year. Borderlands 2 and Torchlight II releasing around the same weekend. The indie community delivered a knock-out blow with FTL: Faster Than Light and I may or may not have a fleeting interest in trying War of the Roses. So many games in the last couple of weeks right? Well buckle up kiddos, its time to take it into the next gear.

Dishonored is coming out with some promising buzz and some already great reviews to boot. But being a new IP, its always shaky ground even when the review scores come in glowing. What really seems to matter for a new IP’s long-term success is how much it bodes well in the community and how much buzz it generates over the course of its first month of release. I have some high hopes for Dishonored and have it queued up and ready to go on Steam this week.

Another game that is sure to set the hardcore gaming base on fire will be XCOM: Enemy Unknown. A throwback to the cult classic 1990’s tactical strategy game, this game has been making quite a few rounds with its excellent demo. I played a bit of it last week and was impressed enough to pre-order the game and give it a shot. I might not be getting to it until after starting up Dishonored, but I know I’ll get there eventually. I should also mention that if you pre-order it on Steam, you get a copy of Civilization V as well!

Still waiting on confirmation for Natural Selection 2’s release date, but its sure to hit at any time now. With the game being so close to release I’m putting it on this list as something I’m expecting to play very soon. Playing it at PAX, I could tell it was a labor of love and will possibly be one of the best alternate competitive shooters this fall.

Those looking for an indie fix might want to look over at Retro City Rampage tomorrow for classic retro GTA gameplay combined with some irreverent humor.

Some others that I’ve been eying include Cypher, a text-based adventure game set in a cyberpunk world rendered with some fantastic art pieces and Hell Yeah! Wrath of the Dead Rabbit which just looks like a crazy platformer. Both have already been released and I’m wondering if I’ll ever have time to get around to them. Lastly The Walking Dead Episode 4, releases tomorrow. I haven’t completed Episode 3, but considering the impending release I’ll probably just play that tonight as I await the other games to unlock.

As the list of games I desperately want to play piles up, I have less and less time for games that already need playing. I still haven’t played any Sleeping Dogs nor have I spent much time in Guild Wars 2 as of late. You can forget late night StarCraft 2 matches for now. Torchlight II will likely eat up quite a bit more of my time as I’m probably only half-way through the normal game at this point. Its going to be a fun season.

Hard to complain about too much good stuff, but as some have said, its not just a downpour, its a monsoon!

Tags: , , , ,

About Ryan Saul

Hailing from Portland, OR I work by day and blog by night. I like to consider myself a video game connoisseur, playing as many new things as I can get my hands on. Its hard to hold me down to one game for very long before I move on to the next big thing. Luckily, that works pretty well in terms of video game blogging.

One response to “Shortly into the fall gaming season, we are already knee-deep in stuff to play”

  1. giantsbane says :

    That makes me think of the monsoon movie idea you guys had.

Leave a Reply

