League of Legends adds ‘Honor’ system to foster friendlier community

I can’t say this is the main reason I stopped playing LoL, but one of the biggest reasons was definitely the community. Each time I played was just a huge reminder of how much I sucked. And then the berating started. From my own team. Basically when a player in LoL figures out that you are not on the pro circuit or whatever the hell everyone seems to think they play on, that invites a slew of wild accusations of how terrible I am. Dude, like, I already know. I’m playing the damn game so I can get better.

Anyway, in an attempt to promote those who are maybe a little more helpful than simply calling me out on my IQ score, Riot will be starting a new ‘Honor’ system to reward players with ‘Honor’ points. Players will choose to upvote people at the end of the match and be asked to choose why they are giving them honor. Categories of honor include Helpful, Friendly, Teamwork and Honorable Opponent.

I can’t say I’m ecstatic about the addition as our current gamer culture tends to reward the insulting and obnoxious ones more than anything. Considering that I’ve played a fair share of matches in various games only be criticized of cheating after playing a “fairly and honorably” makes me believe that somehow that “Honorable Opponent” part will only get used in the highest of brackets. Those of us beating each other up on the lower rungs will probably be subject to much more ridicule no matter how honorable we are about it. I also have my reservations about how honorable people really will be about giving their teammates points, but I digress.

Riot is trying to do something about its otherwise venomous community and I do appreciate that much. Its good to see that they are trying to push people toward being helpful, even if its really just a virtual gold star.

Tags: , ,

About Ryan Saul

Hailing from Portland, OR I work by day and blog by night. I like to consider myself a video game connoisseur, playing as many new things as I can get my hands on. Its hard to hold me down to one game for very long before I move on to the next big thing. Luckily, that works pretty well in terms of video game blogging.

2 responses to “League of Legends adds ‘Honor’ system to foster friendlier community”

  1. giantsbane says :

    So what will garnering honor points earn someone? Are you going to get matched with people of similar honor? Unless I missed something I imagine this is going to be a useless stat, that few people care about (at least the majority of the community).

    • Ryan Saul says :

      Oh absolutely. I think we tend to reward people who are mean on games like LoL. If you’re berating the weak link on your team or just simply berating the other team in general, your comrades are going to give you the thumbs up. That’s the real honor system. This doesn’t really do anything that I’m aware of, they did that star system on Xbox Live and look what good that did with all the CoD and Halo players.

Leave a Reply

