Word On The Street: A Banjo-Kazooie/Banjo-Tooie spiritual successor drumming up support

Everybody, my day has come. Many a project have come by and I’ve praised its potential through the roof, but nothing quite like this. Banjo-Kazooie could quite well be one of my favorite games of all time. Its up there with Ocarina of Time and Half-Life as one of the games I’ve replayed the most. So let me just say that when talk of a spiritual successor to Banjo-Tooie, the 2nd game in the seminal duo of N64 classics, may be looking for some support, I’m right there. I’m all over that like a Jinjo on Mumbo’s Mountain.

It looks like some of the ex-Rare folks who have probably gotten a little more than tired of the trickle of projects since the Microsoft acquisition from a decade ago are looking to get back into what they do best: make great games. Right now everything is basically at the very beginning stages of trying to test the waters through twitter. Under the guise of @MingyJongo these ex-Rare employees, including composer Grant Kirkhope and artist Steven Hurst, are looking to just see what sort of support they might have for such a project. Well first of all I’m having a really hard time not geeking out so let me just get something out of my system first.

Gather round for a paragraph my children. Rare used to be fucking king when it came to great games. They made Battletoads, Donkey Kong Country, Goldeneye: 007, Perfect Dark and of course Conker’s Bad Fur Day. I think a lot of people wonder why we are always so ticked off that Nintendo can’t secure third-party developers and its basically because of how much Rare simply killed it back on the N64 days. And yea, I almost forgot to mention that they made the only true competitor to Mortal Kombat: Killer Instinct. Talk about a repertoire! But after Microsoft bought them in 2002 the company just got…weird. Not a lot of titles were being produced anymore, at least compared to their hey-days and Rare now being a first-party developer for MS eventually made them pretty obscure to the modern generation of gamers. Ok, I kinda sorta maybe enjoyed Viva Pinata and that Banjo-Kazooie: Nuts & Bolts game, but it was nothing close to what they used to put out. Alright history lesson over.

As far as what they’ll be doing we only know a few things: it will not be directly related to the Banjo-Kazooie franchise and it will not be developed by Rare. It will be basically the same art style and game mechanics. Beyond that everything else is completely unknown. Its unknown if they even have anything to really show right now. What they are possibly interested in is a Kickstarter project and to that I say: go for it. Get that sucker up right away because the excitement about this thing is going to build up very quickly and may dissappate just as fast. Project Eternity has shown that interest in high-profile Kickstarter projects is still very big.

As if there was any question I’ll be keeping up with the status of the project as much as possible and will post any updates as they come along. If you are as interested as I am in seeing a sort of post-MS revival of the Rare spirit, particularly B-K, then please follow them on twitter @MingyJongo and give them a quick tweet for support!

Tags: , , , ,

About Ryan Saul

Hailing from Portland, OR I work by day and blog by night. I like to consider myself a video game connoisseur, playing as many new things as I can get my hands on. Its hard to hold me down to one game for very long before I move on to the next big thing. Luckily, that works pretty well in terms of video game blogging.

Leave a Reply

