Planetside 2 will keep you glued to the game at all times with its mobile app

As reported by JoyStiq’s Massively blog, the free-to-play game Planetside 2  will feature a ‘near real-time’ mobile app that not only shows off your impressive K/D ratio, but also where the battle is at. For a game that is all about the importance of the metagame, this is huge.

For would-be commanders this could be the app that keeps you plugged in when you need to be. A lot of what made the original Planetside often tedious was a tendency to not be near a battle. This could be a great way to stay off the PC for some time and monitor what is going on remotely, jumping into the fray when the action gets intense.

Developed by a companycalled AppBurst, the mobile app will feature achievements, skills, performance reports, interactive maps and even voice chat.

I can already see how this is going to go. I’ll be out getting a drink with my buddies and decide to check on the old PS2 app on my phone. That base we took earlier in the day is getting invaded by the TR’s. Time to head back home and defend it!

That sounds like the kind of world I want to live in with gaming, or at least to a certain point. I really hope this doesn’t turn us into Planetside obsessives, as I don’t really want to relive my summer of 2003, but I do still want to play.

Tags: ,

About Ryan Saul

Hailing from Portland, OR I work by day and blog by night. I like to consider myself a video game connoisseur, playing as many new things as I can get my hands on. Its hard to hold me down to one game for very long before I move on to the next big thing. Luckily, that works pretty well in terms of video game blogging.

Leave a Reply

