Indie Spotlight: Gunpoint (alpha build)

Oh Indie Spotlight, its been awhile.  I have to apologize for taking you all down that road of trying to make it episodic somehow.  I don’t mind doing regular updates, but that format clearly did not work for anyone.  Its way better to feature these games on a case-by-case basis.

I was able to get my hands on Gunpoint, which is a very high-concept indie game from Tom Francis (I actually wrote about it some time ago).  I would call it puzzle, strategy and stealth all rolled into one, with a little dash of sandboxing opportunities.  Add to that the slick 8-bit, yet beautifully designed artwork and you have Gunpoint.

This game has a lot of potential and I can’t fault the developer for taking his time to make sure he gets it right.  As I point out in the video, the biggest takeaway I had was that level design would be a huge factor.  The gameplay lends itself to brilliant opportunities to level design.  If Tom Francis can find a way to leverage the indie community to build custom levels then I think this thing will gain a lot of steam.

I would say keep an eye on this one.  We’ll be sure to post any big updates or pre-order information as it comes in.

Tags: , ,

About Ryan Saul

Hailing from Portland, OR I work by day and blog by night. I like to consider myself a video game connoisseur, playing as many new things as I can get my hands on. Its hard to hold me down to one game for very long before I move on to the next big thing. Luckily, that works pretty well in terms of video game blogging.

Leave a Reply

