Humble Bundle 5 ends at a staggering $5.1 million

Bundles and indie game sales are not going away any time soon, not if you consider the latest success from Humble Bundle.  With possibly the best catalog of games in their bundle to date, this Humble Bundle earned over $5 million, selling to nearly 600k people over 2 weeks.  The record number eclipses the last successful Humble Bundles 2 and 3, which earned just over $2 million a piece.

I’d chalk it up to a lot of now must-play indie games all being gathered in one place.  I mean, this is the cream of the crop and I may even go so far to say that many of these are indie game classics.  Bastion, LIMBO, Amnesia, Braid, Super Meat Boy and darling hit Psychonauts, amongst some others.  Its hard to articlate just how amazing these games really are.  Add on the soundtrack of each game to boot and you’ve got one nice little package for an average sale of $8.53, which also happens to be the same price I spend on lunch at Quizno’s.

I was for awhile a doubter that the bundle model could continue at its current clip and I think Humble Bundle did a good job in slowing the pace down a little so the rest of us could catch our breath, but now we’re talking some much more tangible numbers that don’t completely devalue the games they are representing.  I feel like even at $8.53 people are percieving these things to be a little more valuable, but time will tell.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Ryan Saul

Hailing from Portland, OR I work by day and blog by night. I like to consider myself a video game connoisseur, playing as many new things as I can get my hands on. Its hard to hold me down to one game for very long before I move on to the next big thing. Luckily, that works pretty well in terms of video game blogging.

Leave a Reply

