Assassin’s Creed trailers always have the best music

Going into this week’s E3 coverage I knew 2 certainties: 1) Assassin’s Creed III would be there and 2) the trailer would have a kickass soundtrack like always.

I want to meet the man out there who keeps choosing these songs, because every time I get both goosebumps and a new entry to my song collection.  Hit the jump where I’ll take you through past Assassin’s Creed trailers set to great music.

Assassin’s Creed

This is gonna take some of you way back.  Sure, many of you out there weren’t huge fans of the first game, but when it just about to be released, man-oh-man was I excited.  This commercial came out some time around the game’s release date and started a trend of great music-themed trailers.  You’ve probably heard the song before: “Teardrop” by Massive Attack.

Bonus trailer with a great soundtrack entry from the game.

Assassin’s Creed II

I think this is where most of today’s fans entered.  AC2 was just an incredible experience.  Ubisoft, being as French as they are, chose a tune called “Genesis”by popular French electronic band, Justice.  Watching it at PAX for the first time made my skin tingle.

Assassin’s Creed: Brotherhood

Riding off of a whole ton of hype, Ubisoft managed to put out not 1, but 2 music-themed trailers for their Ezio follow-up.  The first is my personal favorite on this whole list: “Burn My Shadow” by Unkle.

And the second video showed off portions of the game’s story set to “Royksopp Forever” by Royksopp.

Assassin’s Creed: Revelations

May not have been my favorite entry in the series, but wow did this trailer have an awe-inspiring song to get us pumped for it!  “Iron” by Woodkid is still on my Spotify starred list for those times I want to feel like a real bad-ass…while driving.

Assassin’s Creed III

And while I don’t think this will be the official “music trailer”, I’m actually really liking the soundtrack on this one as well.  Seems like its part of the game’s official score, but its edgy, modern and effective and basically stood all of the hairs on the back of my neck straight up.

So there you have it, I commend Ubisoft for keeping game trailers cool and interesting, much in the same vein as the first Gears of War trailer.  I hope the trend continues.

Tags: , ,

About Ryan Saul

Hailing from Portland, OR I work by day and blog by night. I like to consider myself a video game connoisseur, playing as many new things as I can get my hands on. Its hard to hold me down to one game for very long before I move on to the next big thing. Luckily, that works pretty well in terms of video game blogging.

Leave a Reply

