Kickstarter Watch: Some original titles for once

Kickstarter continues to be a goldmine of great indie ideas and proposals, but let’s face it: most of them have been rehashes and sequels to long-dead game franchises.  I certainly don’t mind that one bit, but why not something new and original once in awhile?  An IP has to start somewhere.  This week’s Kickstarter picks (backed by FULLNOVAZERO) are 2 completely original titles.

Republique

This game certainly has a lot going for it in terms of presentation and originality.  The video updates have been high quality stuff and the trailer for the game is breathtaking and exciting, so why is this game going to likely fail at getting to its huge, half a million budget?

Blame it on the first half of the Kickstarter’s existence, where Camouflaj was dedicated to keeping this an iOS-only game.  The original vision made sense and I think it was heading in the right direction, but let’s face it, hardcore iOS gamers willing to shell out money for a Kickstarter project are going to be in short supply.  After they announced the PC version (most likely to get things moving forward) I immediately jumped on chipping in, but alas I think the multi-platform switch may have been too late.  The voyeuristic survival game is still an interesting idea though.

Check it out and contribute if you find it as interesting as I did.  It may be a longshot, but we can still hope to cross the finish.

Nekro

I had a special fondness for 2 games in high school: Sacrifice and Giants: Citizen Kabuto.  Both had been released years before I got my hands on them, but so what?  They were still ridiculously fun and addictive and I spent many hours with their zany characters.  They are, in large part, completely unrelated games, but at the same time they still belong to the rarely-utilized “RTS-lite” genre.  Nekro definitely will be a new entry to RTS-lite games and seeing that they have managed to fund their project and put out some alpha footage and fantastic concept art, I think it will do very well in indie circles.  I’ll be right there to review it early given the chance.

This game is also fully-funded at this point in terms of Kickstarter amount, but let’s face it: $100k is a pretty tiny budget, even for an indie game.  The more these guys can get the better and I’m making a special call-out on this one since its about to end.  Even if you don’t contribute, keep your eye on it in the future.

That’s it for now, I continue to scour the Kickstarter landscape for more games all the time.  You can always follow my profile to see what FULLNOVAZERO is personally backing (more than just games!).

Tags: , , , ,

About Ryan Saul

Hailing from Portland, OR I work by day and blog by night. I like to consider myself a video game connoisseur, playing as many new things as I can get my hands on. Its hard to hold me down to one game for very long before I move on to the next big thing. Luckily, that works pretty well in terms of video game blogging.

3 responses to “Kickstarter Watch: Some original titles for once”

  1. giantsbane says :

    I think it is going to be very difficult for original IPs to utilize Kickstarter as a viable funding source. Personally it’s a matter of trust; I’ve only contributed to projects that are being done by developers that have made games I’ve enjoyed in the past. The pitfall to this type of funding disposition is that sequels are much more likely to get contributions.

    • Ryan Saul says :

      Yea totally agreed. After Double Fine did their kickstarter they had a thread on their forum for what else people would want to see. Everyone mentioned sequels. Its just way easier to back something you already know and love, way harder of a sell if you’re not sure how its going to turn out. But then again, you gotta take a risk somewhere.

      All the devs in the above two have some good credentials btw.

  2. giantsbane says :

    Intellectually I know that I should take risks on games, but it never ends up happening.

Leave a Reply

