The Diablo III hype train and my attention span

I’m having the weirdest relationship with Diablo 3 hype.  I know the look and feel of Diablo 1 and 2 pretty well.  Diablo 3 looks about 90% the same with a big graphical facelift.  Why are we getting so excited over this?  There’s been numerous other great hack and slash games, but when straight clones like Torchlight or Titan Quest come out people have to trash all over them.  Diablo 3 will be great, mindless fun and I think we will all enjoy it, but unfortunately it won’t be groundbreaking or even emotionally involving.  The story of every Blizzard game has always been in the “very interesting, but not life-changing” category.

But there is a looming problem: Starcraft II had/still has a great following because of the excellent attention to easily accessible, but more importantly competitive, multiplayer.  You could jump in and start working on your skills, go up ladders, practice with buds, watch competitive youtube videos, etc.  Without a PvP mode, Diablo 3 only has its co-op to rely on, so how is that going to hold up months from its release?  Are we going to keep getting quests that feel new and interesting?  Will it have the same appeal as raids do in MMOs?  I guess it has to, because I don’t see much more of the game holding water.  I may be wrong for this game, but recently I’ve noticed that my attention span for RPG hack and slash games only gets me to about the 60-70 hour mark.  And that’s if there are constantly new things to do.  If the game is only about 30 hours long with new difficulties awaiting later, then I’ll probably stop after the first run.

Sounds blasphemous to those who are die-hard fans, but this is really all I can spare in my interest capacity.  PvP, on the other hand, will last me far longer.  Possibly into hundreds of hours if its really competitive.  Starcraft II probably translated to about 100+ hours for me, and I was never into the original Starcraft’s multiplayer.  Call of Duty translated to a good 300+ hours without counting the massive amount of time spent just in the game’s menus waiting for games and talking to friends.  Competitive gaming is really going to be needed to make D3 a lasting success and I have no doubt that they will release it at a later time, but I’m just hoping sooner than later, as my interest will probably wane after a month.
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About Ryan Saul

Hailing from Portland, OR I work by day and blog by night. I like to consider myself a video game connoisseur, playing as many new things as I can get my hands on. Its hard to hold me down to one game for very long before I move on to the next big thing. Luckily, that works pretty well in terms of video game blogging.

2 responses to “The Diablo III hype train and my attention span”

  1. giantsbane says :

    Interesting…maybe it’s just because I never played the originals, but I’m not that excited about Diablo III. Perhaps I should qualify that statement; I am very much anticipating its release, but I don’t expect to be playing it for that long. I had a great time with Torchlight and Titan Quest, but neither of those games were interesting past a couple of play throughs of the campaign. Was Diablo 2 something our friends played for more than ~60 hours?

    Without some sort of competitive multiplayer it just gets grindy. The only reason I personally put up with that in TOR is that the harder to obtain loot is necessary to complete the raids. Is Diablo historically known to be difficult? Because I could see myself investing additional time to beat challenging campaign content.

    • Ryan Saul says :

      Its known to be somewhat difficult, but at the end of the day its because each playthrough goes to a new difficulty that is exponentially harder than the last. Last game had 3 levels of it, this game has 4.

Leave a Reply

