Deciding to quit The Old Republic

The decision was pretty simple really.  A month had passed since I last played The Old Republic and I was reminded by the glaring entry on my credit card statement.  Immediately I decided it was time to pull the plug, there’s no reason for me to be paying for something I don’t use.  But really now, that’s the simple reasoning I used behind my decision and there are reasons behind me quitting SWTOR that are much deeper.

About at level 20 to 25 my friends and I had begun to get disparate in our levels.  I would be level 21, my friends would be level 25, I would be at level 25, they would be at 32.  It probably wouldn’t make a lot of sense to most of you since you level up slower and slower as the game wanes on.  But the simple matter of the fact was that I wasn’t investing all of my time into this game like they were.  The problem I was having was that by the time I was ready to game, it would already be about 8 PM and then I would only want to game for about 2 hours.  MMOs just flat out require more time than that to get any real progression.  And I just couldn’t bring myself to play the same game every day.  But when you factor in that disparity between my friends and I, it just got more sickening every time I got on.  They would be at the max level and I would still be at level 30-something, a long way away from the level cap.

Eventually I also got to a point in the game when playing solo just didn’t work anymore.  It was either grind the same old boring world I had been on for 10+ hours or continue on to a world that was going to kick my ass for playing solo.  This became a huge burden and I just couldn’t stand the thought of it anymore.  When you only play a couple hours it doesn’t feel fair to group up with new people every night just to play a few quests.  People expect a little more commitment out of you on these games, at least that’s the impression I get from them a lot of times.

Finally just when I was beginning to get into the PvP part of the game, my friends hit their max levels and suddenly they were cut off from playing with my character.  You see, the PvP of the game allows all levels to play on equal grounds, but when you hit the max level cap it isolates those players into a different arena.  Makes sense, but unfortunately it was just one less thing for me to play in the game.

Maybe the biggest influence on this decision wasn’t actually game related though.  I’ve noticed something that happens to me after playing a game for a great deal of time.  I’m starting to call it the 60 Hour Itch.  Its probably not the same for everyone, a lot of people I know will play 1 game for months and never get bored of it.  But for me I need to move on eventually, I need to say “Ok, what’s next?”  If a game doesn’t have a lot else to offer me after that 60 hour mark I get a strange feeling that its time to move on.  I can fight it and keep playing the same, but an extreme feeling of boredom washes over me every time I start it up.  Unfortunately it could be months before I shake this feeling and get a chance to return to the game and I don’t think TOR is much different.  When I booted up SSX and Mass Effect 3 with a sincere sense of enjoyment and anticipation I knew that TOR had faded from my consciousness.

Farewell for now TOR, perhaps we’ll meet again someday.  I’m not sure how people get so into these MMO games, but at least I had fun while I did.  And here’s hoping the 60 hour itch doesn’t grab me again when I boot up Guild Wars 2.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Ryan Saul

Hailing from Portland, OR I work by day and blog by night. I like to consider myself a video game connoisseur, playing as many new things as I can get my hands on. Its hard to hold me down to one game for very long before I move on to the next big thing. Luckily, that works pretty well in terms of video game blogging.

One response to “Deciding to quit The Old Republic”

  1. giantsbane says :

    You needed to join an active guild. I think that omission is ultimately what killed this game for you. Meeting and playing with other people is what has kept me egaged with this game, because grinding by yourself is incredibly arduous.

Leave a Reply

