No Halo 4 beta?

For the last 2 major games Halo has usually gotten a little beta time.  It always seemed like a bit of fan service, as it usually only lasts for about 2 weeks, plus it was usually attached to another game to drive up the sales on it.  But I’m sure when Bungie still had the helm they at least took notes on the experience.

Well it looks like all of that is not happening for 343 Studios, the new caretakers of the Halo franchise.  Why?  I really have no idea from a common sense perspective.  It sounds like 343 probably has a lot of their minds already and doesn’t want to muck everything up with a possibly soul-crushing beta period.

But still, these betas have become well engrained in the online Halo experience from a fan’s perpsective, so to me it feels more like a missed opportunity.  If fans aren’t already a little bemused over a different company making their favorite game, then all I see this doing is damaging that relationship even more.  What do I know though?

There is no Halo 4 beta or Halo4beta site

P.S. Apparently this is the first use of the Halo category on FULLNOVAZERO, which is a little exciting.  Not my favorite game by any means, but I know I’ll be writing about it a lot come later in the year.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Ryan Saul

Hailing from Portland, OR I work by day and blog by night. I like to consider myself a video game connoisseur, playing as many new things as I can get my hands on. Its hard to hold me down to one game for very long before I move on to the next big thing. Luckily, that works pretty well in terms of video game blogging.

3 responses to “No Halo 4 beta?”

  1. giantsbane says :

    If the trend for CoD has taught me anything its that this game will be a great success, even if it is inferior in quality to previous entries. Remember playing Black Ops? I remember thinking why on Earth are we playing this, and yet we did…for so much longer than I want to admit.

  2. giantsbane says :

    But we all bought it…

Leave a Reply

