Game Developers Conference (GDC) this week

For those of you not aware, the GDC is this week.  Its a gaming conference that in recent years has highlighted some interesting announcements and some provocative lectures. Most importantly, for me at least, is the Independent Games Festival which coincides with the GDC and lets some of the most promising indie game developers show off their stuff.

It seems like yesterday when GLaDOS popped up during a speech by Gabe Newell, revealing the existence of Portal 2, or when Notch took home the grand prize for the IGF for Minecraft.  Its an interesting conference where things can be a little unpredictable, as opposed to announcement parties like E3 where you can easily expect all sorts of new games and hardware.  I’m curious to see what comes out of it this year and I wanted to give you all a heads-up that I may be writing a lot of about the goings on there all week long.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Ryan Saul

Hailing from Portland, OR I work by day and blog by night. I like to consider myself a video game connoisseur, playing as many new things as I can get my hands on. Its hard to hold me down to one game for very long before I move on to the next big thing. Luckily, that works pretty well in terms of video game blogging.

Leave a Reply

