Pre-order bonuses need to be toned down already

I think this is getting out of hand.  Video games just used to be so simple.  Yes, there would be scores of swag available for a game at any given point, you had posters and memorabelia, maybe there would be an art book out there somewhere, but the proliferation of DLC has become so ridiculous that I can’t keep track of any of it anymore.  From Amazon to Walmart to Gamestop, everybody has to have their own little pre-order exclusive and its just aggravating to think this should even be incentive to buy from a certain store.

Does every game need to have a specialty DLC item for each place you shop at?  I really hate shopping at GameStop, they know it, but they get all the best DLC pre-order stuff anyway.  Why are there so many Razer hardware bundles that getting all of the extras for Mass Effect 3 effectively costs you $870?

You see, we gamers enjoy things being complete.  We want to know that we can somehow attain the amazing loot a game has to offer even if it takes us 100+ hours to get there (I usually give up around the 70 hour mark, but that’s beside the point).  We need assurance that whatever special thing is available is attainable within the game. When you take that away and make specialty items into a real-world scavenger hunt, it becomes a huge nuisance.  Some games at least offer you this gratitude, but its a little disheartening to think that those who pre-ordered from a Gamestop and not a Blockbuster got that stuff earlier because they chose the better store.

Its just getting too hard to follow at the end of the day too.  I like the idea of getting an extra something for ordering the game in advance, but half the time these days there are so many possible bonuses that I don’t even know many of them exist!  I follow games pretty exclusively and you would at least think I’d be privy to some of this stuff, but in the end I really have no idea which 7-11 you were suppose to buy the Super Gulp at to get a special bad-ass-carbon-whatever-rifle exclusive to those who like to drink soda.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Ryan Saul

Hailing from Portland, OR I work by day and blog by night. I like to consider myself a video game connoisseur, playing as many new things as I can get my hands on. Its hard to hold me down to one game for very long before I move on to the next big thing. Luckily, that works pretty well in terms of video game blogging.

Leave a Reply

