First Impressions: SSX

At this point I think you probably all know that I am a huge SSX fan.  I was chomping at the bit for another release for years, mainly because I skipped out on On Tour and Blur, and the announcement of another SSX game had me very excited.   Now that the game is out, I’ve played it for a few hours and I’m ready to give my first impressions.

First off, you will be introduced to the game’s “World Tour” mode, which is sort of like a campaign for the game.  There’s a story here, but its pretty much pointless: there’s a guy who’s not with “Team SSX” and of course you need to beat him at everything.  Whatever, let’s just get to the gameplay!

Hold up though, first the game shows you how to play by having you fall through the air endlessly.  This is actually a great time for the game to show off its new control scheme, which I am surprisingly preferring over the classic controls.  They are just so much more well suited to the faster tempo of gameplay in this iteration that I must insist you try them.  You can use either the right-stick to control tricks or the right-side buttons and you can switch between them at will.

Before long I found a style that felt very comfortable: Hold down the right-stick and flick it up to jump, then use the buttons to execute all of the insane tricks available.  It feels like a mix between Skate and Tricky.  There’s quite a bit of flexibility offered and I like that the controls are so intuitive, I plan on showing the game off to newcomers and I believe those new controls will be the key to pulling them in.

Everything else feels just right though.  The music, the colors, the tricks, the smooth flow between grinds and jumps, its all there and at breakneck speeds.  The courses are fun and offer tons of replay value, both in learning how to master it and discovering the hidden lanes available, which has always been a staple of the game.  In short: its SSX as you’ve always loved it, its just feels crisper and more suited for a modern generation of consoles.

Back to the larger game though, and this is really what I want to discuss: The World Tour mode is merely a prelude, a tutorial if you will, to the much larger and more content-rich mode of Global Events.  This mode lets you access all locations and the EA servers will dynamically create events for people over the net to compete in.  Its opt-in, so you won’t be waiting for other riders to join into a match or anything, just start the race and try to beat everyone’s scores.  You’ll see other riders occasionally on the track, which is neat.  I think this is where the game really shines and I can tell I will be playing a lot of it.

That’s it for now, we’ll be bringing more SSX content soon enough and hopefully a much more in-depth look in due time.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Ryan Saul

Hailing from Portland, OR I work by day and blog by night. I like to consider myself a video game connoisseur, playing as many new things as I can get my hands on. Its hard to hold me down to one game for very long before I move on to the next big thing. Luckily, that works pretty well in terms of video game blogging.

One response to “First Impressions: SSX”

  1. Jessie Wade says :

    Thanks dude! I was curious about the game…haven’t picked it up yet!

Leave a Reply

