Origin lets you download games you bought on Steam for no extra cost

You would think for a service that I generally think is pretty mediocre that I wouldn’t write about it so much, but EA keeps doing interesting things with it and so Origin keeps rearing its ugly head.

Recently the service has begun activating products that you’ve already bought through Steam on their Origin service.  That deserves a big “say what?“.

That’s right, if you’ve bought Dead Space 2 as well as other Origin-offered games on Steam in the past, the Origin service will automatically detect these titles and make them available for download in Origin.  I like to call this move the Jedi Mind Trick in business: you don’t want to download stuff on Origin?  WELL YOU ALREADY DID!

How EA is doing this sounds a little sketchy, but it appears to only be sending back lists of games you already have installed on your PC to the Origin servers.  They aren’t spying on you or anything…right?  I’ll just assume I don’t want to know the answer.

So I think this Origin thing isn’t going away soon as far as I can tell.  EA is pretty entrenched.  Typically I see this sort of “product activism” at the beginning stages and then watch as interest from the company quickly fizzles out.  But not for Origin, EA has made a commitement and let’s face it: if they dropped the requirement for the service today, nobody would use it.  Everyone would go back to Steam and we would probably forget Origin was even a thing.

Little do we remember that Steam was in the exact same position many years ago and we too hated its guts for years.

Origin auto-adds EA games bought through Steam — no, it’s not creepy

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About Ryan Saul

Hailing from Portland, OR I work by day and blog by night. I like to consider myself a video game connoisseur, playing as many new things as I can get my hands on. Its hard to hold me down to one game for very long before I move on to the next big thing. Luckily, that works pretty well in terms of video game blogging.

4 responses to “Origin lets you download games you bought on Steam for no extra cost”

  1. giantsbane says :

    Why did “we” hate Steam? I didn’t start PC gaming until it had been around for quite a while and seemed to be the status quo.

    • Ryan Saul says :

      It was pretty awful at first, but most of the hate came from the fact that we already had a working multiplayer component: WON network. Steam had a lot of connection issues and it was much harder to find the games you wanted at first.

      Eventually the store began to come into fruition, but it wasn’t really until around 2007 or so that I’d say it really took shape.

  2. giantsbane says :

    Was Steam ever a requirement to play a game?

    • Ryan Saul says :

      There was a point when they forced us off of WON, so if you wanted to play Counter-Strike you needed to use Steam, I don’t remember which year they did that, but everyone bitched about it. Wasn’t as bad as everyone remembered it I think, but WON worked really well at that point and Steam was still really new, so there were a lot of growing pains. I do remember that you needed Steam to play Half-Life 2 though and for the most part you needed to be logged in.

Leave a Reply

