2012 may be the year of free-to-play MechWarrior games

With a free-to-play game coming in from the MechWarrior universe soon, I was more than a little surprised to find out that a turn-based strategy game called MechWarrior Tactics would be coming out for the series soon.  Well, I guess I shouldn’t be completely surprised, but let’s face it: MechWarrior has never had anything to do with turn-based strategy games (but it has at least had a couple quality RTS ones).

All of this link-infused posting just made me think of how rad it is to see that MechWarrior is finally making at least some sort of a come-back after being practically being left to die in the streets.  What confuses me the most is that the formula wasn’t dredged up during the height of the FPS rip-off orgy that was 2009 and 2010, even then it would have been pretty old.

The last proper entry in the MechWarrior series was back in 2004 with MechAssault 2: Lone Wolf, and even then it wasn’t a truly MechWarrior-style game, that last one would have been back in 2002 with MechWarrior 4: Mercenaries.  That puts the franchise at pretty much a decade-long hiatus, only to come back in the form of a free-to-play title.  Not bad of course, I rather like free-to-play, but one has to wonder why this isn’t rolling with the big AAA dogs that are your Call of Duties and such.

I’ll reiterate it again: MechWarrior has a lot of the components that this current generation of gamer have come to love.  You have upgrades, slots, load-outs, and all sorts of chassis to choose from.  Slap a little bit of that XP level-up bar shit that everyone gets so excited about these days and you have a potential hit on your hands.  But I digress.

I’m most interested in seeing what the upcoming Hawken has to offer, another free-to-play game that for all I can tell is essentially a quicker-looking version of MechWarrior, with maybe a dash of Tribes in there.  But this is why I say that 2012 may just be the year of MechWarrior’s return, not just in its namesake, but in its very formula.  Hopefully more studios out there see the potential that giant mechanized robots have to offer.  Hell, I’d take a decent Power Rangers game at this point.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Ryan Saul

Hailing from Portland, OR I work by day and blog by night. I like to consider myself a video game connoisseur, playing as many new things as I can get my hands on. Its hard to hold me down to one game for very long before I move on to the next big thing. Luckily, that works pretty well in terms of video game blogging.

5 responses to “2012 may be the year of free-to-play MechWarrior games”

  1. giantsbane says :

    It’s probably a bad sign that I was oblivious to this, but what was the “FPS rip-off orgy”?

    • Ryan Saul says :

      See The Conduit, Battlefield Heroes, Call of Juarez, Section 8, the various CoD games, Left 4 Dead 2 a year after the first game, more STALKER and SOCOM games, AvP, more Halo games, new half-baked Medal of Honor game, 007 Goldeneye remake, not to mention all of the ports of old games to new or mobile consoles and FPS games that ended up actually being good like borderlands and bad company 2.

  2. giantsbane says :

    I guess I am aware of the abundancy of FPS titles, but were they really more prevalent in 2009 and 2010? Also, I am still not sure what you mean by rip-off. Again the fact that I am completely ignorant to this trend probably means I am one of the drones that these titles are being marketed to. I am only moderately consoled by the fact that I didn’t pick up the newest CoD regurgitation.

  3. giantsbane says :

    Hawken looks pretty interesting. I can’t decide if I’m excited or not about new MechWarrior games. It’s been too long since I’ve played one that I can’t remember if I like the series because of nostalgia or because it was good.

Leave a Reply

