Penny-Arcade launches its news branch: The Penny-Arcade Report

Look everybody, I’m still pretty new to this whole video game blog thing.  Slowly but surely I’ve seen more of you come in for game guides, videos, news and all sorts of other stuff.  Its been a fun journey trying to figure out just what exactly FNZ is all about, but at the end of the day I love to consume video game news and write about my thoughts on it.  That’s why I’m excited to see that one of the gaming sites I frequent the most is becoming a haven for high-quality video game journalism.

The Penny-Arcade Report is a collaboration between Penny-Arcade and former Ars Technica video game editor Ben Kuchera.  The irony is that I was just beginning to frequent Ars before Ben left, only to go to one of the sites I’ve been reading weekly for years.  It seems like a great partnership and I really do hope this propels game journalism to new heights.

In short the PAR is what we want to see from games journalism. It does not update every twenty minutes. It is not just a source for press releases, and we are not interested in top ten lists. The PAR is focused on longer form journalism with in-depth research and interviews.

-Mike Krahulik of Penny-Arcade, a.k.a “Gabe”

Its not lost on me that my very blog upholds some of the virtues that PAR seeks to dispel, but I’m alright with that.  Honestly I always like reading top 10 lists, so its just a little more room for guys like myself to create them.  I get excited over press releases, so I believe its OK to post them as long as I’m contributing some of my own thoughts.

All that said, we bloggers need more quality source material and a role model to follow.  If PAR becomes something of a success it seems to me that many of the other sites I frequent should follow suit.  At the end of the day quality interviews and photo-shoots are much better reads than some of the drivel that comes from sites that try to create a drama-fest every day.

Tags: , , , ,

About Ryan Saul

Hailing from Portland, OR I work by day and blog by night. I like to consider myself a video game connoisseur, playing as many new things as I can get my hands on. Its hard to hold me down to one game for very long before I move on to the next big thing. Luckily, that works pretty well in terms of video game blogging.

4 responses to “Penny-Arcade launches its news branch: The Penny-Arcade Report”

  1. giantsbane says :

    Haha you made an acronym for you site. I refuse to acknowledge any reference made using FNZ.

  2. giantsbane says :

    I could maybe get behind FN0, just because it’s confusing. In general, I hate when people make up acronyms. I have a spreadsheet for acronyms at work that’s 1000’s of lines long. It’s a giant pain in the ass to keep them straight.

Leave a Reply

