Hawken is MechWarrior meets free-to-play

I literally was just about to write about how somebody, somewhere could bring back MechWarrior and then this comes along.  Hawken looks like Tribes and MechWarrior had a baby and then wed it to League of Legends. That’s because this beautiful looking indie title will be yet another free-to-play entry.

Stupid titles aside, Hawken looks pretty rad.  I’m really liking the visuals and the agile approach to game design.  Going off my previous analogy, Tribes was always too crazy for me to figure out what was going on and MechWarrior did tend to move pretty slow.  All you need to do is finagle a leveling system that lets you customize your load-outs and you’re set.

While the game comes out on the easy to remember 12/12/12, it will go into some sort of beta testing in the near future which you can sign up for here.

Tags:

About Ryan Saul

Hailing from Portland, OR I work by day and blog by night. I like to consider myself a video game connoisseur, playing as many new things as I can get my hands on. Its hard to hold me down to one game for very long before I move on to the next big thing. Luckily, that works pretty well in terms of video game blogging.

2 responses to “Hawken is MechWarrior meets free-to-play”

  1. Dominic Tarason says :

    If you’d read the full article, you’d have found out that Mechwarrior is ALSO coming back, and is also going to be F2P.

Leave a Reply

