Can a blind gamer save Hyrule?

If this doesn’t inspire you, I don’t know what will.  Terry Garrett is a gamer who lost his vision at the age of 10 in 1997, but has continued to play video games despite his visual impairment.  After showing the world that he could tackle Oddworld: Abe’s Odyesse with near-perfection, he decided to take on my all-time favorite game: The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time.

Watching him play is mesmerizing.  If he struggles on parts he tends not to show it and pushes through the game mainly by trial-and-error and listening to the game’s distinct sound cues.  He uses two chair-mounted speakers to help visualize the game by stereo sound.  I found myself closing my eyes to try and get an idea of what it would be like to game like he does.  Terry also actively describes how he is playing the game using an emulator and the types of auditory cues that aid him.

Terry begins playing OoT in this video:

Its a fascinating thing to watch, especially for areas of the game that are brutally hard for those of us that can see what’s happening (i.e. The Water Temple).  Terry also compiles and edits all of his own videos, another giant feat for something that depends mainly on visual cues (fascinating to a video editor like myself anyway)

Terry edits his Zelda footage in this video:

With the support of his friends and family, Terry shows us all that great things can be accomplished by anyone, even defeating Gannon and saving the magical realm of Hyrule.  I personally will be watching his progress as he continues to finish the game.  I’ve also read that he is an engineering student, so it would seem to me that his time is probably limited, so I don’t expect it will be anytime soon.  In any case this is one of the most inspirational, uplifting and let’s not forget awesome things I’ve ever seen.  Keep up the amazing work Terry, we’re rooting for you!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About Ryan Saul

Hailing from Portland, OR I work by day and blog by night. I like to consider myself a video game connoisseur, playing as many new things as I can get my hands on. Its hard to hold me down to one game for very long before I move on to the next big thing. Luckily, that works pretty well in terms of video game blogging.

Leave a Reply

