Was Minecraft’s official release also its death?

After putting Mincraft Monday on hiatus, I quickly realized that I didn’t have much other reason to return to the game.  The official release has come and gone for Minecraft, to much fanfare, but now it seems like there isn’t much more to look forward to and my interest in the game has quickly waned.

It does appear like Minecraft will see a bit of support after the fact, but I haven’t seen anything too compelling come out of the list of future updates.  Its a sad thing to see since one of the things that kept my interest in the game were the updates done every so often.  It was a ton of fun to explore the possibilities with a new feature or integrate it into my existing base.  Pistons, for example, were an incredible addition to what was possible in the game.

When a game has been officially released, its understood that the features added to the game will probably be much more sparse and not be too far removed from what is already within the game.  Its a sad state for a game that thrives on new ideas and things and at this point the life of the game will likely depend on what the modding community can produce (this itself is hampered by a lack-luster API to the game).

I hope to return to Minecraft someday, but with games like Terraria and many other indie games on the horizon I just see myself as done with it until either an awesome new update or some sort of fresh idea pops into my head for another video series.  Take care Mojang and Minecraft fans, I’m sure we will see each-other again soon.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About Ryan Saul

Hailing from Portland, OR I work by day and blog by night. I like to consider myself a video game connoisseur, playing as many new things as I can get my hands on. Its hard to hold me down to one game for very long before I move on to the next big thing. Luckily, that works pretty well in terms of video game blogging.

Leave a Reply

