The Top 10 indie games of the year

IndieDB posted a user-submitted vote for the best indie games of 2011.  I was very pleased with the results and even more pleased to see that I actively played 8 out of the 10 games awarded.  You can check out the detailed list here or hit the jump for a quick run-down.

I’m about to try the 2 games I didn’t get to this year, so those would be the only ones I’m sketchy on, but the rest of the list I 100% agree with:

10) Unepic – Haven’t played, no comment.

9) Atom Zombie Smasher – Made a video about it.  Have played more hours than I’m willing to admit.  Very replayable with lots of randomness.

8) Ace of Spades – Haven’t played, but its Minecraft with guns and it sounded awesome.

7) Dungeons of Dredmor – I haven’t made a video on this yet have I?  Its amazing randomly generated fun, highly recommend, usually less than $5 for hours of gameplay.

6) SpaceChem – Brilliant puzzle game.  Incredible Machine-like gameplay.  User generated puzzles to extend the lifetime of this game very far.  Only caveat is that it crashes my computer hard sometimes.  Available on iOS also.

5) Sanctum – Best Co-op game this year.  Tower defense meets FPS, what more could you want?

4) Bastion – Best storied game this year.  Excellent catch with the dynamic narration, great twist at the end and very replayable.

3) Trine 2 – What if Trine had multiplayer?  That’s what Trine 2 is all about and it shines very brightly with a few friends playing.

2) Frozen Synapse – Tactical, almost classic Rainbow Six-like gameplay.  Highly entertaining for pick-up games between friends and co-workers.  Can play multiple games at once.  Feels like a modern chess game in some ways.  Another one I made a video on.

1) Terraria – Didn’t actually play it up until the end of the year, but it ended up being one of my favorite games.  Better than Minecraft?  In many ways a resounding yes, which is quite the accomplishment.  If you don’t have this by now I don’t know where you’ve been.  Best played with friends.

There you go!  Again it was such a great year for indie games, I am very happy with the results of what a bolstered indie distribution chain can ultimately bring.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About Ryan Saul

Hailing from Portland, OR I work by day and blog by night. I like to consider myself a video game connoisseur, playing as many new things as I can get my hands on. Its hard to hold me down to one game for very long before I move on to the next big thing. Luckily, that works pretty well in terms of video game blogging.

One response to “The Top 10 indie games of the year”

  1. Infinity Chess King says :

    It’s great that the royal game of chess is up there with the very best. Nice work by the way.

Leave a Reply

