Gears of War 3 DLC revamps leveling and adds new maps

Recently I purchased the Gears of War 3 Season Pass and so far I have not been disappointed.  RAAM’s Shadow added a little single player action and the Horde Command Pack boosted some of the things to do in Horde Mode.

But at the end of the day I’m in it for the sweet multiplayer action and that’s where I want the majority of my cash going toward.  Epic put out the Versus Booster Map Pack for free last month and added an additional 5 multiplayer maps.   And that’s why it pleases me to announce that the next DLC will be coming January 17th and not only looks to add another 5 maps, but is going to add additional length to multiplayer leveling.

The “Re-Up” System adds the ability to do a Call of Duty, prestige-like reset of your current level and start from the beginning.  There will be three tiers of Bronze, Red and Gold which will give corresponding icons next to your name as you rank up.  Each rank unlocks a new weapon skin – glowing plasma, the Crimson Omen and electrical sparks.  Good incentive to play for those who like unlocking things.

Oh, and as pictured above, they are adding one of my all-time favorite maps in the series – Escalation, which if you are a veteran of the original Gears of War you may recognize as the very long and narrow map with many tiers of staircases.  It was one of the best sniper maps and made for some intense uphill battles.  Now I’m even more excited for this pack next month!

Fenix Rising DLC Adding Prestige Style Rewards to Gear of War 3 in January

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Ryan Saul

Hailing from Portland, OR I work by day and blog by night. I like to consider myself a video game connoisseur, playing as many new things as I can get my hands on. Its hard to hold me down to one game for very long before I move on to the next big thing. Luckily, that works pretty well in terms of video game blogging.

Leave a Reply

