DmC: Devil May Cry looks like a game to take a chance on

I’ll just be honest, I’ve never really been into Devil May Cry-style games, or the whole Devil May Cry series for that matter.  The franchise is now getting a reboot of sorts where the story now takes place in an alternate universe that is constantly shifting with a much younger-looking Dante in the simply-named DmC.

The set-piece shifting city is something that I really want to experience first-hand after watching this video:

But so far, the combat looks like something to be desired.  I had the same problem with previous Devil May Cry games or the more recent Bayonetta, but I take it this is the sort of gameplay most fans of the franchise enjoy, so maybe I am just “not getting it”.  Check out the more core gameplay elements in this video:

At the end of the day I am highly interested and I think it might be worth giving a shot.  After all, development is actually headed by Heavenly Sword creator Ninja Theory instead of the usual in-house team from Capcom.  The Cambridge-based team may be able to infuse just the right amount of western-styled gameplay elements to get me really interested in the series this time around.

Keep an eye on it!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About Ryan Saul

Hailing from Portland, OR I work by day and blog by night. I like to consider myself a video game connoisseur, playing as many new things as I can get my hands on. Its hard to hold me down to one game for very long before I move on to the next big thing. Luckily, that works pretty well in terms of video game blogging.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. » Enslaved: Odyssey to the West » LTTP - December 19, 2011
  2. 30 games to look forward to in 2012 « fullnovazero - January 3, 2012

Leave a Reply

