Best games of 2011 preview

Now that I have my own game blog there is something I’ve been wanting to do for years: make my very own arbitrary list of what I think the best games of said year are.  There’s also this nagging feeling that I need to somehow be creative, however, so I’d like to submit several categories that don’t feel extremely obvious.  This is a preview of what those categories will be, the actual winners will be announced later this week:

Gameplay

  • Most Inventive Gameplay
  • Best Competitive Gameplay
  • Most Realistic Gameplay
  • Most Pure-Fun Gameplay
  • Most Improved Gameplay (sequels only)

Technical

  • Most Realistic Graphics
  • Best Ambient Sound
  • Most Impressive Looking

Story and Art

  • Best Use of Game Mechanics in Story
  • Most Original Art Style
  • Best Score and Soundtrack
  • Best New Character
  • Best Player-Character (gameplay considered)
  • Best Antagonist (gameplay considered)

Overall

  • Best Production Values
  • Best Atmospheric Game
  • The “I can’t stop smiling” Award
  • The Best Overall Package (graphics, sound, story, gameplay)

Whew!  I’ve got some work to do!  Some notes: Only games “released” within 2011 will be considered.  Games such as League of Legends, which I did not start playing until this year, will not be considered (would have been shoe-in for “Best Competitive Gameplay” though).  In an interesting twist, Minecraft was actually “released” last month, so it will be considered.  If you have other categories you’d like me to consider, please post them in the comments!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Ryan Saul

Hailing from Portland, OR I work by day and blog by night. I like to consider myself a video game connoisseur, playing as many new things as I can get my hands on. Its hard to hold me down to one game for very long before I move on to the next big thing. Luckily, that works pretty well in terms of video game blogging.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. The quick and dirty – Games of 2011 you must play « fullnovazero - December 19, 2011

Leave a Reply

