Generals 2 announcement is a complete surprise to me

Just last week I was remarking that there was no chance in hell that Bioware’s next game would have anything to do with the huge offshoot in 2003 that was Command & Conquer: Generals.  Well I am nearly shocked that this next game is, in fact, a sequel to the aforementioned game.  Not because it was a bad game, mind you, in fact I played it at almost every LAN party for about 2 years.  It was surprisingly well-balanced and fun.  No, I was surprised because the C&C fanbase rebuked the game so hard back in the day.

Not for bad reasons either, it was a major departure from the series.  There were absolutely no story tie-ins to games like Red Alert or the original series.  No mention of tiberium, there were also very few, if any, similar units.  Many were furious about moving the unit build bar and mini-map to the bottom of the screen – every major Command & Conquer game has had this on the side of the screen – thus emulating how Blizzard had done their RTS games with Warcraft and Starcraft.  As many hardcore fans considered Blizzard games the main competitor for Command & Conquer, this was viewed a heresy.

Yet, looking past all of that, the game brought a lot of great things – unique super units for each side, a faction that could improve its units by salvaging downed units off the battlefield, and super weapons that dwarfed previous games in their scale.  Most importantly it brought a lot of fun to the table, which for me is the best thing any game can do for itself.  All things considered this sounds like a great idea and I can’t wait to see what Bioware does with it.  Another surprise for me was probably that Bioware, makers of RPG classics like Knights of the Old Republic and Mass Effect, are going to try their hand at an RTS, we’ll see how that goes I guess.

If you missed it, check out the preview video out after the jump!

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Ryan Saul

Hailing from Portland, OR I work by day and blog by night. I like to consider myself a video game connoisseur, playing as many new things as I can get my hands on. Its hard to hold me down to one game for very long before I move on to the next big thing. Luckily, that works pretty well in terms of video game blogging.

Leave a Reply

