One of the best video game soundtracks of all time gets a legit remix edition

Splinter Cell: Chaos Theory was an excellent game in its own right, arguably the best game of the Splinter Cell series.  For me the thing that really stood out, however, was the outstanding soundtrack by Amon Tobin.  Rarely do video games get original scores from big-time electronica artists like this and the results were, in my humble opinion, out of this world.

Chaos Theory Remixed cover

Recently a remix of this soundtrack was released to the grand delight of my eardrums, including a new original track from Amon Tobin himself.  Artists include Kid Koala and Daedelus.  The remix album relit my interest in the game and reminded me of how well Amon Tobin’s dark and industrial tones meshed with the spirit of the franchise.

Even if you’ve never heard the original or have not listened to much electronica, I highly recommend this as it is a great achievement in production values for games.  I’ve provided a youtube sample below (please don’t hurt me record companies!) and a link to it on Spotify, where I’m enjoying it right now :D

Listen on Spotify: Amon Tobin – Chaos Theory Remixed

Amazon: Amon Tobin – Chaos Theory Remixed

Original soundtrack: Amon Tobin – Chaos Theory

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Ryan Saul

Hailing from Portland, OR I work by day and blog by night. I like to consider myself a video game connoisseur, playing as many new things as I can get my hands on. Its hard to hold me down to one game for very long before I move on to the next big thing. Luckily, that works pretty well in terms of video game blogging.

One response to “One of the best video game soundtracks of all time gets a legit remix edition”

  1. Dante2k4 says :

    Wait what? I had no idea Amon Tobin did the OST for Chaos Theory. That is BADASS.

Leave a Reply

