Skyrim only makes third place on Xbox Live

Is anybody else just a little bit surprised by this list on Major Nelson’s blog?  Its almost a little insulting.  Not only could Skyrim not top Modern Warfare 3’s towering list of fans, it couldn’t even beat Black Ops!  Its just….a little disappointing to those of us who have sung so many praises for Bethesda’s latest open-world RPG.  I recently admitted defeat to MW3’s addictive and enjoyable formula, so obviously I’m a part of the problem.

But for every hour I’ve played of MW3 I’ve played about 5 hours of Skyrim…on my PC.  And I think that is the problem right there.  Not only are many Skyrim owners on different platforms, they likely aren’t going online much to play a single player game on their Xbox.  Steam numbers in particular for Skyrim have apparently been quite good compared to Modern Warfare 3:

This screen was taken on 12/1/11

So maybe this arbitrary list from Major Nelson means nothing…or maybe it does.  Maybe Skyrim sells a hell of a lot more on the PC than the Xbox and MW3 blows everyone out of the water on consoles.  Maybe not.  We’ll see when Bethesda and Activision release their final sales numbers respectively.

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Ryan Saul

Hailing from Portland, OR I work by day and blog by night. I like to consider myself a video game connoisseur, playing as many new things as I can get my hands on. Its hard to hold me down to one game for very long before I move on to the next big thing. Luckily, that works pretty well in terms of video game blogging.

One response to “Skyrim only makes third place on Xbox Live”

  1. GiantsBane says :

    Are you playing MW3 with anyone? I don’t want to buy it…

Leave a Reply

