Yes, I’ve started playing MW3 and OMG it is fun!

Looking down the sights of my future wasted nights

Call me a hypocrite, I don’t care.  I said I had a problem with Modern Warfare 3 and frankly I still do, but it doesn’t really matter.  I also said I was willing to give the game a fair shake and I have.  You know what?  Its a good game.  Activision be damned, I love this game.  Stats upon stats.  Kills upon kills.  Deaths upon countless deaths.  Its FPS nirvana.

If I were to point the finger at who got this right, it would have to be Sledgehammer.  They are made up of several employees from Visceral, a.k.a. the team known for copying other games so well they win awards.  Is it any wonder then that Modern Warfare 3 feels exactly like its predecessor, but in a good way?  I don’t think this is coincidence, this is the sort of well-crafted clone that one likes.

Enough guns/perks/attachments/skins to keep you busy for a whole week!

Just enough goes into making improvements to an already winning formula.  If there were any more it would feel like, well, Black Ops.  Any less and it would feel like an expansion pack.  No this sequel does it in a way that feels like the sort of sequel that rabid fans would appreciate, and that’s not necessarily a bad thing.  This is pretty much what rabid fans would ask for, feature for feature, stat for stat.

If Infinity Ward (I mean the say, the former Infinity Ward, not whatever Frankenstein they have working there now) had made this game, it would have been much different.  I for one would have been very interested to see where it went.  Perhaps a new graphics engine?  Perhaps an emphasis on some entirely new multiplayer mode?  Who knows…  The possibility of a true follow-up is long behind us and now we must embrace a good 3 or 4 more years of formulaic perfection that was established by former titans of the genre.

Air strikes take you back to the last 2 games, when it looked and played exactly the same...not that there's anything wrong with that

Believe me now, it won’t last.  This isn’t Call of Madden, even the sheeple will expect a true improvement in due time.  For now, enjoy what we have, because it’s damn fun.  The sort of fun only you and a handful of friends can have each night for a few hours before turning in for the night.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Ryan Saul

Hailing from Portland, OR I work by day and blog by night. I like to consider myself a video game connoisseur, playing as many new things as I can get my hands on. Its hard to hold me down to one game for very long before I move on to the next big thing. Luckily, that works pretty well in terms of video game blogging.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Skyrim only makes third place on Xbox Live « fullnovazero - December 1, 2011

Leave a Reply

