“Against the Wall” will leave you falling for more

Indie gaming has slowly become one of my favorite “genres” if you could call it that.  There’s a lot to like about indie games, namely the passionate designers and visuals that are far away from the norm in mainstream games, but my favorite part about them is the return to gameplay as a focus.  Since most mainstream titles seem to focus more on the shiny visuals and the amount of things you can “unlock” for experience, indie games have become something of a bastion for innovation in gameplay design.

When I saw Against the Wall, I loved the idea.  Standing against a wall that stretches out forever in all directions, you are tasked with climbing the wall to various locations.  Clicking on the variably-sized squares on the wall pulls out a piece to let you climb it.  And that’s pretty much the premise to the whole game, although you should watch out that it is very easy to be pushed off the wall by said pieces and figuring out a pattern that actually lets you climb can be a bit of a challenge.

Against the wall is the first indie game I’ve decided to fund while still in development since I was so impressed by the idea and the clean, almost Mirror’s Edge-inspired visuals.  If you’d like to check the game out, visit their website, where the developer has uploaded a tech demo of sorts.  If you like what you see I also recommend throwing a few dollars their way via Kickstarter.

 

Tags: ,

About Ryan Saul

Hailing from Portland, OR I work by day and blog by night. I like to consider myself a video game connoisseur, playing as many new things as I can get my hands on. Its hard to hold me down to one game for very long before I move on to the next big thing. Luckily, that works pretty well in terms of video game blogging.

Leave a Reply

