Skyrim in Under 3 Hours? Challenge Accepted

Bethesda has a tradition of pitting their top QA macho-man against their manliest developer in a challenge to beat their latest game in the shortest time possible.  Their last challenge for a Fallout 3 speedrun ended in a whiplashingly 75 minutes with only seconds between the two competitors.

As Skyrim is slated to have over 300 hours of gameplay, I can imagine that the speedrun for this game would be significantly longer.  Developer Jeff Browne was able to complete the game at 2:16:30, very impressive.

However, QA tester Sam Bernstein, who beat Jeff in the previous Fallout 3 run, was able to score a run of 2:16:10, beating Jeff again by 20 seconds!  Well done Sam, your character selection speed skills are unmatched….until the rest of us get a chance to try.

Jeff vs Sam II: The Skyrim Speedrun

Tags: , , ,

About Ryan Saul

Hailing from Portland, OR I work by day and blog by night. I like to consider myself a video game connoisseur, playing as many new things as I can get my hands on. Its hard to hold me down to one game for very long before I move on to the next big thing. Luckily, that works pretty well in terms of video game blogging.

5 responses to “Skyrim in Under 3 Hours? Challenge Accepted”

  1. Mortar and Pistol says :

    I don’t get why they publish this stuff…I understand the game won’t actually last for little over 2 hours but for those unaware of Elder Scrolls gameplay, this might give them the wrong idea about a game that in reality offers nearly 100 hours of gameplay

    • seccom15 says :

      I think its a little tongue-in-cheek, I don’t think they really want people to think its a 2+ hour game. QA testers want to blow through the game quickly to get work done, so no matter how complex the game might end up, they’ll figure out ways to beat it faster.

  2. Mortar and Pistol says :

    Well that makes sense. I honestly can’t wait for this game to be released. You figured out which race you’re gonna play with? I think I’m leaning Orc

    • seccom15 says :

      I’ll probably be playing a Nord since the trailers have gotten me all ramped up to be a barbarian badass, but I’ve always wanted to try out the Khajiit since I like the idea of being this cat-person with a robe on.

  3. GiantsBane says :

    “…until the rest of us get a chance to try.” Lol, maybe you’ll finish the game faster than that if you’re the type of player who plays a game for an hour and then somehow never manages to get back to playing it again. Then it’ll be “finished” for you…

Leave a Reply

